Awards and honors | Tromsø International Film Festival

Logging you in ...
You are not logged in

TIFF 2020 13-19 January



January 13-19 2020

Awards and honors

Cate Shortland's "Lore" won the prestigious Aurora Prize as six films were honored during the closing ceremony at theis year's festival.

There was both joy and excitement in the air as the film festivals awards were handed out during the closing ceremony in Kulturhuset on Saturday night. Six awards were given before the American film "The Sessions" was screened as the festival's closing film.

The German post World War II film "Lore", by director Cate Shortland, was awarded The Aurora Prize for best film in competition. A total of eleven films were included in the competition programme.

- The Aurora prize goes to a sensible film about the transformation of a young girl within the circumstances of war. Her perceptions of good and bad, right and wrong are questioned in this suspenseful drama. The intense, daring and tactile cinematography brings the drama very close to the viewer, the jury said in their statement. Gunilla Bresky (Sweden), Ilona Jurkonyte (Lithuania) and Endre Lund Eriksen (Norway) were the members of the Aurora Prize jury.
This year's Tromsø Audience Award, an award that is well recognized both in Norway and abroad, went to the Chilean film "No", directed by Pablo Larrain and starring Gael Garcia Bernal.
The award is given after festival audiences have handed in their votes, ranking their three favourite films of the festival.
The Don Quixote Award was presented to the French film "In The House", by director Francois Ozon.
The jury's three members were Odd-Arild Knutsen (Norway), Tea Gabidzashvili (Georgia) and Santosh Pathare (India).
The International Critic's Award was presented to the French comedy "Camille Rewinds", by director Noémi Lvovsky. Dominik Kamalzadeh (Austria), Maria Ulfsak-Sheripova (Estonia) and Jan Landro (Norway) were the members of the jury in this category.
"Wadjda" from Germany and Saudi Arabia, by director Haifaa Al Mansour, was presented with The Norwegian Peace Film Award. Both "War Witch" and the festival's opening film "Before Snowfall" received honorable mention. The jury featured Rikke Schubart (Denmark), Zoia V. Ravna (Norway) and Christian Beyer (Norway).
The Tromsø Palm is presented to the best short film or documentary in the Films From The North programme. This year the award was given to the Norwegian documentary "There Will Be Some Who Will Not Fear Even That Void", by director Saeed Taji Farouky.

Honorable mention went to the Norwegian short film "To Open, To See", by director Camilla Figenschou.