And the winners are... | Tromsø International Film Festival

Logging you in ...
You are not logged in

TIFF 2020 13-19 January



January 18-24 2021

And the winners are...

Program Director Martha Otte at the closing ceremony at KulturHuset. Photo: Jamie Bivard
Seven awards were given out tonight during Tromsø International Film Festival's closing ceremony.

We proudly present this year's winners of TIFF's own Aurora Prize, the international critics award Fipresci and the Don Quijote award which is awarded by the International Film Club FICC, The Tromsø Palm for the best film in the Films From the North programme, and The Faith in Film Award, The Norwegian Peace FIlm Award – and of course the Tromsø Audience Award.


An exclusive selection of the best and most exciting films from the international arena are nominated to compete for TIFF's Aurora Prize. The films must have their Norwegian premiere at TIFF to be eligible.

Marte Vold
, Tromsø-born, Oslo-based freelance photographer, film director and artist. Studied at Nordland Kunst og Filmskole in Kabelvåg, Oslo National Academy of the Arts, and The Norwegian Film School in Lillehammer.
Juliette Duret, Head of Cinema for the Center of Fine Arts BOZAR, Brussels.
Hanne Hammer Stien, curator, Associate Professor in Art History and Vice-Director of The Arctic University Museum of Norway and Academy of Art, UiT The Arctic University of Norway.

The winner is: ATLANTIS by director Valentyn Vasyanovych (Ukraine)


Founded in 1930, FIPRESCI (Federation Internationale de la Presse Cinematographique) is the name of the international umbrella organization for professional film critics and film journalists. FIPRESCI works to promote film culture and safeguard professional interests. FIPRESCI is well known for its involvement in juries at film festivals. Presently, there are FIPRESCI juries at almost 70 international film festivals. The FIPRESCI jury awards «The International Critic’s Award», which often is regarded as equally important as official jury prizes. The aim of the FIPRESCI award is «to promote film art and to encourage new and young cinema».

Birgit Beumers
, “KinoKultura” quarterly, UK
Toni Junyent, "Transit", "Cinemania", Spain
Arnstein Bjørkly, "Le Monde", Norway

The winner is: LILLIAN by director Andreas Horvath (Austria)


Quixote The Don Quixote Prize is awarded by FICC (Federation internationale des cine-clubs). Founded in 1947 during the Cannes Film Festival, FICC/IFFS is an international umbrella organization for film societies and non-profit cinemas. The Italian film director Gianni Amelio is the honorary president of the FICC. One of the aims of FICC is to promote outstanding films for a broader audience. FICC awards the Don Quixote Prize at selected film festivals, such as Berlin, Cottbus, Karlovy Vary and Locarno. TIFF had the honor of hosting FICC for the first time in 2000.

Charlotte Christiansen
, Tromsø Filmklubb, Norway
Martin Urban, Pupille e.V. – Kino in der Uni, Frankfurt, Germany
Elżbieta Piotrowicz, Film Society represented: Film Society KaFe In-nI, Poland

The winner is: COLLECTIVE by director Alexander Nanau (Romania / Luxembourg)


The Tromsø Palm is awarded to the best film in the sidebar Films from the North. The director of the winning film is given 5000 Euros – offered by the resource centers for film in the Barents Region:

Filmpool Nord, Luleå, Sweden
Film i Västerbotten, Umeå, Sweden
Nordnorsk Filmsenter, Honningsvåg, Norway

Rachel Andersen
, Film editor, Tromsø
Jesper Bergom-Larsson, Development & Production Executive, West Norwegian Film Center
Irina Obodova, Film producer, founder of production platform Potential, St. Petersburg

The winner is: TOP 3 by director Sofie Edvardsson (Sweden)


The FAITH IN FILM award was given for the first time in 2017. It was established by Center for Art, Culture and Church, Norwegian Church Academies and Tromsø Church Academy in collaboration with the Tromsø International Film Festival. The winner film should engage and stimulate to reflection and critical thinking about the religion’s place in society and in people’s lives. The winner of the FAITH IN FILM AWARD receives a hand-painted icon, made in the Carmelite monastary in Tromsø.

Sigrun Høgetveit Berg
, Assistant Professor, Department for Archeology, History, Religious Studies and Theology at UiT. The Arctic University of Norway
Didrik Søderlind, Advisor, The Norwegian Humanist Association
Kristin Aalen, Freelance film and theatre critic

The winner is: BALLOON by director Pema Tseden (China)


The Norwegian Peace Film Award is given to a film spotlighting direct, structural or cultural violence, and which in a creative way contributes to a deeper understanding of conflicts and violence.

The award is presented by TIFF in collaboration with the Centre for Peace Studies at the University of Tromsø and the Student Network for Peace.

Christine Cynn, Tromsø-based filmmaker and activist, co-director of the Academy Award-nominated documentary THE ACT OF KILLING
Heidi Alexandra Darvell, a student in the Master’s Degree Programme in Peace and Conflict Transformation at the Centre for Peace Studies, UiT - The Arctic University of Norway
Holger Pötzsch, Associate professor in Media and Documentation Studies, Dept. of Language and Culture, UiT - The Arctic University of Norway

The winner is: MADE IN BANGLADESH by director Rubaiyat Hossain (France / Bangladesh / Denmark / Portugal)


TIFF is first and foremost an audience festival, and the "Tromsø Audience Award" is the festival audience's own award. At the end of the festival the audience cast their votes after seeing films the whole week, and the film with the most votes is the winner.

The winner is: PARASITE by Bong Joon-ho (Korea)