Logging you in ...
You are not logged in

TIFF 2019 14.-20. januar



14.-20. januar 2019

Two prizes for ELENA and PLAY

From the film ELENA.
Andrej Zvjagintsev's ELENA won the fextival's Aurora award and the FIPRESCI award at the closing ceremony Saturday night. Ruben Östlund's PLAY also received two awards at TIFF 2012.

This year six films have received awards at Tromsø International Film Festival:

The AURORA prize is awarded by Tromsø International Film Festival to the best film in the Competition Program.

The prize goes to: ELENA. Director: Andrej Zvjagintsev, Russia

The jury: Andrea Flakstad Conradsen, film maker from Tromsø, Norway, Jan Erik Holst, editor, Norsk filminstitutt and Øystein Simonsen, managing director, Tysvær Cinema.


The FIPRESCI award is the international film critic award.

The prize goes to: ELENA. Director: Andrej Zvjagintsev, Russia

The jury: Melis Behlil, Sinefil, Altyazi Film Magazine and Radikal, Turkey, Bodo Schönfelder, EPD-Film, Filmintelligence.com, Germany, Tord Olander Pedersen, Bladet Nordlys, Norway


The Don Quijote is awarded by the FICC jury – the international federation of film societies and non-profit cinemas.

The prize goes to: STOPPED ON TRACK – HALT AUF FREIER STRECKE. Director Andreas Dresen, Germany.

The jury: Hilde Lange, Tromsø Children’s Film Society, Norway, Quim Crusellas, Cineclub Vic, Spain, Patric Schatzmann, Kino Freier Film Aarau and Swiss Youth Film Days, Switzerland.


The Norwegian Peace Film Award is awarded out by Tromsø International Film Festival, Center for Peace Studies at the University of Tromsø and the Student Peace Network.

The prize goes to: PLAY. Director: Ruben Östlund, Sweden

The jury: Sara Linnea Häll, MA-student at CPS, board member of SNF, University of Tromsø, Asbjørn Grønnestad, professor of visual culture, director of Nomadikon Project, University of Bergen, Rosella Ragazzi, documentary film maker and assistant professor in visual anthropology and museology, University of Tromsø.


THE TROMSØ PALM is awarded to the best short or documentary from the “Films from the North” program.

The prize goes to: FLIMMER. Director: Line Klungseth Johansen, Norway

The jury: Lill Casslind, film consultant at Film i Västerbotten, Sweden, Eilif Bremer Landsend, film maker, Tromsø, Norway, Dieter Wieczorek, director of Signes de Nuit Festival, Paris, France.


TROMSØ AUDIENCE AWARD – POWERED BY TROMS KRAFT is the audience’s own award at the Tromsø International Film Festival. The winner is elected based on the votes from the viewers at the festival.

This year’s prize goes to: PLAY. Director: Ruben Östlund, Sweden.